Cultural Tech-Fusion Fabrics

 
 
This evening I have been working on creating Egyptian motifs for a Friday Nights event at the de Young Museum...the closing night of the King Tut exhibit. As I was working I was thinking how lucky it is that I have some experience with Illustrator as I embark on creating digital textile designs.  It will be useful.  On the theme of Egypt and the Middle East, we were at dinner tonight at a sushi restaurant in Santa Clara on El Camino Real.  I happened to look across the street and see sandwiched between a wireless phone shop and as car dealership, a small store called "Al-Huda Bookstore and Hijab Corner".  My mind went spinning on other such store names like "Hijab Hut" .  I could see long white shirts on hangers and a woman's manequin head with a patterned hijab on it.  Being in Silicon Valley, I knew it must have a website and it does.  I hope to go visit the store and get a better look at their rich textiles. The pink patterned fabric on the hijab looked very pretty.

I think this experience is typical of the cultural fusion in Santa Clara County. I loved it that I was eating sushi in the Korean section of El Camino Real and was gazing at a hijab store across the street.

Below are beginnings of the de Young project pattern pieces. I will be approaching the project with a sort of Art Deco Egyptian flavor. Visitors will take these elements, color them, cut them out, and attach them to gold headbands.
9/17/2012 04:55:42 pm

kudos! A trustworthy blog, thanks for putting an effort to publish this information. very informative and does exactly what it sets out to do. thumbs up! :)

Joseph Aidan
www.arielmed.com

Reply
10/20/2016 08:59:59 am

In today's markets the most efficient way to advertise business is through the internet, which has continued to have increasing number of users; therefore more and more business are having websites that show all that the organization has to offer the customers. However, there are some businesses that still don't know the importance of campaign for their business using the SEO.

Reply



Leave a Reply.