Cultural Tech-Fusion Fabrics

 
 
As I begin to collect textile images of different cultures here in Santa Clara, I will also be collecting images of food wrappers and other packaging to scan and incorporate into the designs.  Sometimes it is the food packaging that enters the broader public visual vocabulary first.  During my de Young Museum Artist Residency I explored their online database of textiles and blended motifs with patterns inspired by the grounds of the de Young and inspired by family stories. Many wrappers made their way into these pieces as well as fabric remnants from designer Colleen Quen.
Having spent a stint as a museum exhibit graphic designer, I felt comfortable creating the museum panels for my residency. I hope be creating similar such panels for this digital textile project. I believe such diagrams help express the meaning and origins of element in my works.
Below: A few days ago, curator and weaver artist, Deborah Corsini, gave me these vintage  Japanese silk thread boards from the 70's.  The colors, pattern, logo and fonts are wonderful.
Picture
Picture



Leave a Reply.